atoz letter gA Grand Old Time is my book review for Saturday of the letter G.  I always do a book review on Saturdays.  It doesn’t exactly fit my theme of writing inspirations for this year’s A to Z. Yet all reading gives something to my writing (don’t do this, look at how they did that), A Grand Old Time fits the bill.  In fact, it’s probably a reminder that I should live a disgraceful old age and avoid being put in an old people’s home at all costs.


A Grand Old Time

grand old time coverby Judy Leigh

A funny and heartwarming debut for fans of Rachel Joyce and Cathy Hopkins.

Evie Gallagher is regretting her hasty move into a Dublin care home. She may be seventy-five and recently widowed, but she’s absolutely not dead yet.

And so, one morning, while the rest of Sheldon Lodge is asleep, Evelyn walks out the front door and never looks back. So begins a road trip that will take Evie first to Liverpool, then on to Brittany, where she buys a camper van and heads south on a Great Adventure.

But not everyone thinks Great Adventures are appropriate for women of Evie’s age, least of all her son Brendan and his wife Maura, who set off in pursuit, following a trail of puzzling text messages.

But when Brendan and Maura finally catch up with Evie, there are shocks in store for all of them … because while Brendan may have given up on life and love, Evie Gallagher certainly has not. [Goodreads]

My Review

There seems to be a growing rebellion among old people.  First The Hundred Year Old Man who Climbed out of the Window, and now this.  I received an ARC from Net-Galley for this wonderfully funny and heart-warming (and heart-panging) book.

Seventy-five year-old Evie starts her escape unsteadily, and finds herself regaining lost confidence.  That is a truth for many people who have been confined in some way, and then get the courage to say ‘no’.  One of the many strengths of this book is that Evie has many mishaps, and nearly gets herself into serious trouble.  Fortunately there are usually strangers (however strange) who help.  Having helped, they may be put upon for a while, until Evie finds the wisdom within herself to help them in return. And then she gets all sorts of ideas for further exploration – and since she has the means to do so, she gets going!

A few steps behind is her worried son, and his inconsistent wife.  I say inconsistent, because she wafts from giving up on things (including her husband) to trying for one last time.  She’s an interesting character, but not a likeable one. He’s a bit of a wimp, but sees it as his duty to bring his mother ‘home’.  It’s all a great recipe for trials, tribulations, travel problems that are delightfully hilarious when you aren’t involved in them, and anger from the reader who by now has sided entirely with his mum.

add to your goodreads listI thoroughly enjoyed this book and recommend it for anyone within planning distance of care homes, and for those who have had to consign a parent to one, knowing that she or she really cannot look after themselves.  If you have any doubts about that, take care not to let your guilt complex get worse by reading this. Although you may find it helps, in a strange sort of way!

A Grand Old Time was published on 3rd April.

Had any inspirations for your writing from books you’ve read lately?

Like this post? Please rate it...

0 1 2 3 4 5

G is for A Grand Old Time #AtoZChallenge 2018 | Book Review

9 thoughts on “G is for A Grand Old Time #AtoZChallenge 2018 | Book Review

  • 7 April, 2018 at 8:46 am
    Permalink

    This sounds entertaining! As soon as I started reading I thought of The 100 year old man … etc which I really enjoyed. I recently read (bookgroup choice) Etta and Otto and Russell and James by Emma Hooper which is also about an old woman leaving home and, in this case, setting off to walk from Saskatchewan to the east coast of Canada. However, it’s a bit magical realist and I found it rather fey – the meeting is next week, so I’ll be interested to hear what others think.

    Reply
    • 9 April, 2018 at 8:38 am
      Permalink

      This is probably not meant to be as funny as I found it, but it was hugely enjoyable in a Best Marigold Hotel sort of way. Let us know what the others thought.

      Reply
      • 9 April, 2018 at 9:05 am
        Permalink

        Sounds promising! I enjoyed the Best Marigold Hotel films but haven’t read the books.

        Reply
    • 9 April, 2018 at 8:39 am
      Permalink

      Me too! I’m probably ten years behind you, Kristin, but the idea of living with all the old people fills me with horror! I have enough problems with ‘retired’ neighbours as it is.

      Reply
  • 8 April, 2018 at 1:05 am
    Permalink

    I have to read this! My Mom, too, since she’s moved into a retirement home (not really a care place; she has her own apartment but can let someone else do the cooking and cleaning, which she appreciates).

    Reply
    • 9 April, 2018 at 8:40 am
      Permalink

      Yes, I am currently looking at houses, and decided I couldn’t bear to live surrounded by old people, so ‘retirement living’ is out.
      Maybe when I stop writing I’ll be ready to retire…

      Reply
  • 8 April, 2018 at 8:23 am
    Permalink

    Weird. This box disappeared until I tried to post form my ipad. Now my ipad is stuck…

    Reply
    • 9 April, 2018 at 8:41 am
      Permalink

      Things seem to have sorted themselves out, touch wood. Apologies to all my friends for not being around for the last few days. And thank goodness for having the A to Y scheduled in advance. Yes, I’m still working on Z!

      Reply

What do you think? Or just say hi!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox

Join other followers:

%d bloggers like this: